Monday, January 28, 2019

Europe: Five Finalists Announced for Ruggero Bertani European Geothermal Innovation Award

Europe’s most innovative geothermal projects of 2018 (EGEC)

The European Geothermal Energy Council (EGEC) is pleased to announce the five endorsed nominations for the Ruggero Bertani European Geothermal Innovation Award 2019. The final candidates are (in alphabetical order):

  • Climeon (Sweden), for the Fludaorka geothermal plant, Iceland, where a HeatPower module of 2x2x2 m and 150 kW can produce electricity from low temperature geothermal resources (80–130°C).
  • Geofluid (France), for their anti-corrosion well concept implemented at the district heating grid of Bonneuil-sur-Marne, France.
  • GPC Instrumentation Process (France), for the validation of the sub-horizontal doublet and reservoir evaluation concept at the district heating system in Cachan, Paris.
  • Jansen AG (Switzerland), for the Jansen HIPRESS borehole heat exchanger for applications in depths of 300+ meters.
  • Turboden (Italy), for the first 5 stages large axial ORC turbine, as installed on the Velika Ciglena geothermal power plant, Croatia.
This year as well, the high-quality of submitted applications for projects developed within the previous year made for a challenging competition, showing that the geothermal sector is brimming with unceasing innovation.