Tuesday, March 12, 2019

Kenya: Three New National Entities to Manage and Regulate Energy Resources

Kenya's energy sector gets three new agencies (The East African)

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Tuesday assented to three key bills including Energy Bill 2017, which establishes three national entities to manage and regulate Kenya's energy resources.

The law establishes three new agencies: 
  • Energy and Petroleum Regulatory Authority, 
  • Rural Electrification and Renewable Energy Corporation, and 
  • Nuclear Power and Energy Agency.
The Energy and Petroleum Regulatory Authority will regulate generation, importation, exportation, transmission, distribution, supply and use of electrical energy with the exception of the licensing of nuclear facilities. It will also regulate importation, refining, exportation, transportation, storage and sale of petroleum and petroleum products with the exception of crude oil, as well as manage production, conversion, distribution, supply, marketing and use of renewable energy.

The Rural Electrification and Renewable Energy Corporation will undertake tasks including overseeing the implementation of the Rural Electrification Programme, managing the Rural Electrification Programme Fund and sourcing for additional funds for the programme and renewable energy.