Monday, June 6, 2016

USA: Geothermal Energy Association Awards Announced

GEA Honors 2016 Recognizes Leaders in Geothermal Technology, Economic and Environmental Advances (News Release)

The Geothermal Energy Association announced today the winners of their GEA Honors 2016. The winners were selected in categories including Technological Advancement, Economic Development and Environmental Stewardship. GEA will present the Honors at an awards ceremony as part of the Baseload Renewable Energy Summit on June 7 in Reno, Nevada, USA.

This year's award winners are:

Technological Advancement: The University of North Dakota/U.S. Department of Energy.

Economic Development: CalEnergy.

Environmental Stewardship: Enel Green Power's Stillwater Hybrid project in Churchill County, Nevada.

Special Recognition:
  • Jay Nathwani of the US Department of Energy for lifetime achievement. 
  • The Peppermill Resort and Casino for being the only resort in the United States whose heating source is totally provided from geothermal energy produced on the immediate property. 
  • Ormat Technologies for successfully bringing two U.S. geothermal plant online in 2015-Don A. Campbell and McGinness Hills Complex. 
  • The National Renewable Energy Laboratory team including Anna Wall, Annika Eberla, and Garvin Heath and the World Bank's Energy Sector Management Assistance Program(ESMAP) for their past and ongoing efforts to understand the carbon emissions from geothermal resources and different power facilities 
  • Governor John Hickenlooper for advancing geothermal in Colorado.