Monday, July 23, 2018

Indonesia: PLN Awarded Permits to Develop Three Geothermal Working Areas

ESDM Assigns PLN to Manage 3 Geothermal Working Areas (

Ministry of energy and mineral resources (ESDM) has again assigned state-owned electricity company (PLN) to manage three working areas of geothermal (WKP). 
  • WKP Gunung Sirung with an [anticipated] installed capacity of 5 megawatts (MW), 
  • Ranau Lake (55 MW), and 
  • Oka Ile Ange (10 MW).
Previously, PLN had been given permits to manage eight geothermal working areas viz. WKP Mataloko 22.5 MW, Atedei 10 MW, and Ulumbu 50 MW in East Nusa Tenggara; Songa Wayaua 10 MW in North Maluku; Mount Tangkuban Perahu 60 MW in West Java; Tulehu 2x10 MW in Ambon; Ungaran 55 MW in Central Java and Kepahiang 110 MW in Bengkulu.